Brief History of the


The Miss World pageant is the oldest surviving major international beauty pageant. It was created in the United Kingdom by Eric Morley in 1951.

Since his death in 2000, Mr Morley’s wife, Julia Morley, co-chairs the pageant. Alongside Miss Universe and Miss Earth, this pageant is one of the most publicised beauty contests in the world.

Every year roughly 120 contestants from all over the world gather together to compete in the event.

Miss World Logo
WINNERS FROM 1951 – 2014:

Sweden, United Kingdom, Holland, Jamaica, India, Peru, Australia, Austria, Brazil, United States, South Africa, Bermuda, Guam, Venezuela, Dominican Republic, Iceland, Trinidad & Tobago, Poland, Russia, Greece, Israel, Nigeria, Turkey, Ireland, Czech Republic, China PR, Gibraltar & Phillipines.

Many of the countries above have one more than once which include United Kingdom, Venezuela, United States, Iceland and Jamaica.

Miss World




Miss World 2009, the 59th edition of the Miss World pageant, was held on 12 December 2009 at the Gallagher Convention Centre in Johannesburg, South Africa. 112 contestants from all over the world competed for the crown, marking the biggest turnout in the pageant’s history. Ksenia Sukhinova of Russia crowned Kaiane Aldorino of Gibraltar at the end of event.

Miss World

Photo Gallery